Music Theatre: “I” Fantasie - Rencontre between Debussy and Du Li Niang

Rencontre between Debussy and Du Liniang is the first work of Gu Jieting Studios musical theatre series I Fantasie. Gu Jieting integrates piano - an instrument from the Western culture, to the Oriental heritage - Kunqu opera. Based on the two distinguish classical forms of music, Gu reveals a spectacular visual and audio feast; she interprets the Western and the Easter cultures in innovative ways, while seeking for a connection between the classics and the contemporary. The musical theatre is divided into three sections, including piano, Kunqu opera and the screen; they visualize the dialogue beyond space and time. I stands not only as oneself but for everyone involved in the audience; as Fantasie tells our longing for love and dreams. While the screen brings the audience through the flowing imaginations, the gentle notes of piano blending with ancient melodies bring us back to the charming nature of our fantasies. The versatile expressions fill the performance with intension yet the journey was led with an elegant pace. Directed and Produced by GU JIE TINGScreenplay :GU JIE TINGPianist &I:GU JIE TINGStory adapted from "The Peony Pavilion" by Tang XianzuDu Liniang:LV JIAChunxiang:ZHOU JINGFlute:SHI CHENG JINguyen:SHAO CHENRearrangement & Sound Design:JIN WEIWEIStage art Design:TONG WEILIELighting Design:WANG BEIJUN CAO BINGLIANGStage Manager:SHI JIAJIAVisual Art Director:YANG YONGLIANGScreenwriter and Film Director:XU YI

Music 2016

Chorus Divertimento: The Drowning Sunset

The Drowning Sunset a suite for the chamber choirGustation, merging unobtrusively in the warm whisper of an idle breeze, twinkling around the fresh ornament of the sparkling cherry, and lingering on the orbicular rest of the day lily, serves as a memory of this world in our daily life. Sequenced chronically by the taste of saltiness, sweetness, sourness and bitterness. The Drowning Sunset tells a story of nostalgia and remembrance. Moreover, this is just as what Ze Ya is featured of; different chapters are sequenced by elements in the 24 solar terms, forming a subtle, poetic redolence. The Drowning Sunset is composed of four chapters, and each chapter consists of two pieces. They are The Sail (Saltiness), The Garlanded Coast (Sweetness), Flying Whales in the Clouds (Sourness) and The Rain at Night (Bitterness). The suite tells a utopian fantasy in the first person narrative, which is composed of four chapters, corresponding to four different emotions and tastes. It begins when our leading character is in his childhood, taken by his parents to an uninhabited island with their puppy, and then starts a new life there. (Chapter 1) With the surrounds of natural landscapes and wildlife on the island, he grows up, full of curiosity and confusion about the outside world. (Chapter 2) As time goes by, his family are all dead, leaving him alone, looking forward to the second coming of the good old days. When there should emerge the sunset from all sides on the island, all of us would be back. Said his parents. (Chapter 3) And then there comes to the end, the lonely aged man lies in the twilight light, simple and unaffected. Where did he go? Where should the sunset glow? In every drip of rain and breeze of wind, from all sides we know. (Chapter 4) Composer: JIN CHENGZHIPerformer:RAINBOW CHAMBER SINGERS

Music 2016

Modern Drama: On the Road

In ancient China, Mingtu Lu Yin, a small piece of paper, a.k.a the special night boat to the afterlife, is the pass to the road of the underworld. During Ming and Qing Dynasty, people believed that the dead had to get the Mingtu Lu Yin and went to the other world, or his soul would linger forever in this world without transmigration and rebirth. The official Lu Yin was only issued by Chenghuang Miao, the local Temple of the Town Deity where the dead one was born, otherwise, the pass was invalid.In the regnal era of Yongle Emperor, Ming Dynasty, the Peking pickle workshop owner Lao Cheng was dying, but the poor man fought hard to hold his last breath to wait his delayed Lu Yin. Due to the flood, the road between the north and south was blocked. Before getting his valid Lu Yin from his hometown, he could not close his eyes and pass away peacefully.After seeing Lao Chengs determination and suffering, his son decided to drag his fathers coffin with Lao Cheng lying in it, alive, from Peking to Nanjing, travelled by the land route and then by boat, to attain the Lu Yin. Director\Playwright: YANG YIKUNStage\Lighting Design: WANG RUNJIECostume\Puppet Design: WU YANGMake up Design: WANG MEIQIComposer: ZHANG YIXINChoreographer: LIU MEICHIStage Manager: SUN MENGZHUCast: YANG YINGYU, HAO SHANSHAN, WANG SHANSHUI, LI ZIDONG Art Director: JIANG RUOYUInscription: HAO GUANGProducer: YE WENExecutive Producer: HAO SHANSHANTranslation: LIU LIPromotion Manager: TIAN LICHENGraphic Design: ZHANG MIAOAcknowledgements: LUO XI, GU XINTONG, CHEN YUJING, LI YUANYUAN       CHINA COAL MINE ART TROUPE

Drama 2016